New Members

New to the OA?

This is a resource released by the national order of the arrow with an interactive overview using flash
 Video Overview
This is a great video overview of the different honors and events that are avaliable in the OA
OA iSash
This is a production of Coosa Lodge with a catchy theme to the advertisment. Check it out!


The purpose of the Order of the Arrow is fourfold:

  • To recognize those Scout campers who best exemplify the Scout Oath and Law in their daily lives
  • To develop and maintain camping traditions and spirit
  • To promote Scout camping
  • To crystallize the Scout habit of helpfulness into a life purpose of leadership in cheerful service to others


The basic organization of the Order of the Arrow is (in descending order):

Membership Honors

There are three different honors or “levels” of membership in the Order of the Arrow

  • Ordeal – This is the honor all members have after being inducted into the Order of the Arrow. Members of this honor are encouraged to stay involved in the Order of the Arrow to learn more about the organization.
  • Brotherhood – After 10 months of service and fulfilling certain requirements, a member may take part in the Brotherhood ceremony, which places further emphasis on the ideals of Scouting and the Order. Completion of this ceremony signifies full membership in the OA.
  • Vigil – After two years of service as a Brotherhood member, and with the approval of the national Order of the Arrow Committee, a Scout may be recognized with the Vigil Honor for outstanding service to Scouting, his lodge, and the community. This honor is bestowed by special selection and is limited to one person for every 50 members registered with the lodge each year.

This document has been written assuming that you have already been inducted in the Order of the Arrow. A more elaborate document of OA information can be found here,